No44 : Anticipation

1999 , I had travelled from Plymouth to Taunton a day early in order to be in plenty of time for the Australian tour match. I was staying with my sister so popped into the County Ground for a drink and to soak up pre match atmosphere.

I noticed Andy Caddick chatting with some guys and I wandered into the pavillion. The Australian team were there mingling with officials and some we’re wandering around the ground . I asked members of the team to sign my Aussie shirt and they were more than happy to sign their shirt . I sawSteve Waugh in W H Smith later that afternoon too .

I arrived early at The County Ground the next day and got myself a good view. The seats alongside me quickly filled with people eager to watch the day’s play, carrier bags full of sandwiches and flasks of  Coffee.

Talk of the match , the England team , and the Aussies dominated as the teams were announced .the expectation of a good match was almost palpable. The crowd grew until the seating itself was bulging , beer and burger vendors were kept busy as the teams practiced on the pitch. After what appeared to be an age the  game , finally was under way . The noise as the first ball was bowled was amazing.

Somerset lost by 32runs , nobody seemed to be upset , Cricket was the winner .

Leave a Reply

